Users with CLASS Administrator permission or equivalent can access the tool ‘Client Merge’. This can be found in the CLASS menu Tools / Client Merge.
It is important to be very careful when using this tool to ensure that you are absolutely certain you have a duplicate. Remember the exact same name and a very close location may not be a duplicate. Families often live in the same location, cousins etc. may have the same name.
Some tips to get started:
If you cannot see the new Copy Services tool option, or the Merge Clients or Bulk Information tool, and you think you should be able to access them, please ask your CLASS administrator to check your user permissions. Permissions for these new tools may need to be added manually for centres using custom roles.
It is only possible to merge Clients of the same type. (See the Conflict Check section to understand new Client Types.) This means users cannot merge say Full-Clients with Non-Clients. The way to do this however, is to first edit that Client Type (e.g. change a Non-Client to a Full Client) from the Client Details front page, by editing the new ‘Client Category’ field, and saving the client.
Client Merge is under “Tools.” Click on Tools – Client Merge.